It’s Such a Perfect Day….

When you arrive in Prague, the airport is very small. You get out of the main gate and find a small lobby with plenty of taxis and people waiting with signs. On your way to your destination, there are things that no one tells you about.

There is graffiti everywhere. Traffic sucks. There are dogs that don’t have leashes. The transportation system is still easy and still amazing. Service is bad everywhere. Czech’s do not give a shit about you or your problems. The only old timey part with castles and red roofs is when you’re in Old Town. It’s beautiful and expensive there. And by expensive, I mean by Czech standards. Sure coming here for a vacation from an expensive country like the United States, 85 crowns (or more) is no big deal for a beer. When living here, I think the standard outside of Old Town or even in the country, 45 crowns is standard price.

The weather has been off and on with sunshine and rainfall. We all bask in the rays of the sun when it’s out. We creep out of the classroom on our breaks and get lifted outside to grab something to eat from Marks&Spencer or a pastry from the shop by the metro. Life has been stressful and not what I have imagined. I’ve basically relocated into another part of the world, only to find myself in the same situation. The only difference is lack of communication. I can say hello. I can say goodbye. I can ask your name. I can say thank you. My brain is on a level where education has been so dormant that all the input from this course, has overloaded me so much, that I can’t even start to comprehend learning conversational Czech.

Enough complaining though…

I have a busy month ahead. I have just barely started working on my visa. I have a trip to Austria planned, then to Berlin for a night… maybe 2 if I can, then back to Prague and off to Croatia for a month!

If you haven’t noticed, my Instagram has been lacking because I can’t connect to it here. Oh wells….

P.S. The food here is amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

